This Is Why You Don’t Need People’s Validation

Own Your Worth

Aeyrel Twone
3 min readJul 15, 2023

--

Photo by Vika Strawberrika on Unsplash

I want to talk about something that has been on my mind lately: the notion of seeking validation from others. Trust me, I’ve been down that road before, constantly craving the approval and validation of those around me. But let me tell you, I’ve come to realize that we don’t need it. We really don’t.

You see, seeking validation from others is like building a shaky foundation for your self-worth. It’s like placing your happiness and sense of worthiness in the hands of someone else. And guess what? That’s not a solid strategy for long-term contentment. It’s time to break free from the chains of external validation and embrace our inherent worthiness, just as we are.

One of the most important lessons I’ve learned is that true validation comes from within. It starts with self-acceptance and self-love. We are all unique individuals with our own quirks, strengths, and weaknesses. Embracing our authentic selves, flaws and all, is a powerful act of self-validation. It’s about recognizing that our worth is not determined by the opinions of others, but by our own self-perception.

When we constantly seek validation from others, we give away our power. We let external opinions dictate our self-worth and…

--

--

Aeyrel Twone

Hi, I'm Aeyrel. I'm a writer and storyteller with a passion for exploring the world around me. I love to write about my experiences and turn them into stories.